Whoa! And other expressions of a near failure.

July 14, 2006 at 1:07 pm | Posted in General | Leave a comment

Finally got my final semester’s results. Overall they were ok and I while I had hoped my liability result would be higher but not too bad. Acceptable. Unfortunately, I received one very disappointing mark. A pass, a bare pass – 51% (it was a 100% take home exam). Although I’m somewhat relieved that all the paranoia, fear and anxiety I had over this subject weren’t for nothing. Also, I’m kind of impressed that my very first pass was done in glorious fashion.

Strangely, I’m not as freaked as I thought I would be. My only concern is how this will impact any future academic endeavours, or how I’d explain it to those administrators when I can’t even explain the result to myself. I guess I can rely on my honours’ mark.

Now, while I admit to being a bit glum on the way home three things happened.

First, had the joy of standing next to a homeless/ crazy/ poor hygiene man on the train and had the obvious thought that if this is my only complaint when I have good friends and life then a poor grade doesn’t matter.

Two, walking home went past a guy, he looked familiar, turns out we went to uni together. It was random and it was good to catch up after a few years.

Third, as I waited for my pizza I looked out the window and saw an old man with large jowls looking so sullen. I wondered to myself whether that’s how I appeared (minus the fat) or would in a few years if I had a negative attitude. By no means an epiphany, simply a pondering.

Enough navel gazing. Back to normal life.  

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

