Frankfurt

February 19, 2012 at 2:00 pm | Posted in Travel, Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

Went to Frankfurt in 2011. It was pleasant but hot and I just missed out on their MuseumFest. This is from 2011 so hopefully has improved but from my stay I would not recommend the Mercure Hotel Kaiserhof as the description they provided on Expedia didn’t match what was present. I do appreciate Expedia providing swift feedback on this. For example it lists air conditioning in the room but there was only an upright fan.

Other than that I enjoyed walking around the riverfront and modern and historic city centres with its town hall. It may have been that the venues were getting ready for the Fest or I chose the wrong days but several others that I wanted to go to were closed, luckily there were plenty of others.

  • Museum for Moderne Kunst* – Modern art, that’s about it.
  • Goethe-Haus – museum house about Goethe, need I say more? I hope not…
  • Jewish Museum – tells the story of the Jews in Frankfurt over the centuries
  • Sculpture Museum – weirdly this museum covers sculpture, primarily European but also others from around the world
  • Museum of Applied Art* – art from various regions including some modern
  • Museum of Communication – very interesting and much larger than anticipated but covering, as you’d expect communication throughout the centuries. Quite a lot in English too.
  • Caricature Museum –  comics and caricatures good to wander around if that’s your thing
  • Judengasse Museum – an archaeological dig from a Jewish settlement

(* Note: I know I went to a few art galleries but I’m not 100% which ones, think it was those above but Stadel Museum might have been one as well)

I believe I went to a few other museums and churches around town but unfortunately I don’t recall their names. Guess I shouldn’t procrastinate on these things.

As you can see there were plenty of places to go and make sure you plan accordingly.

Photos at Flickr.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Frankfurt […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

