Wallace Collection

March 2, 2009 at 10:19 pm | Posted in General, London, museum, Out and About, Tourism, Travel, UK | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

At the Wallace Collection you’ll find a rich array of antiques ranging in weapons to art and objects d’arte. It’s a beautiful building (currently being refurbished) with a roof enclosing the central courtyard and its restaurant (I saw a few people having high tea!).

Wallace Collection (2) Wallace Collection (3)

Most of the rooms including the lush Great Hall have artwork on the walls and numerous smaller pieces in display cases scattered around. Many of the cupboards are also fine period examples in their own right. The other parts of the collection are devoted to middle ages’ armor, weapons and cavalry. In effect the Wallace Collection offers a little for those who love art and those who might find military paraphernalia a bit more enticing.

While I was visiting they had a temporary exhibit coveringĀ  a collection of treasure hidden (predominantly coins and brooches) during the Black Death.

I observed a very in-depth tour in progress while I was wandering around. The guide was discussing in great detail the paneling and urban legends behind a particular French chest of drawers. Perhaps a bit too intensive for me but I’m sure many people will enjoy it. An audio guide is available however I only noticed a handful of numbers around the collection.

I would have liked some information about the history of the collection and while there are no display boards the staff were more than happy to provide a verbal summary.

I particularly enjoyed this free museum in the middle of London (near Bond Street Tube) as it has a strong and diverse collection.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The diversity of the collection was what delighted me, as well. So many beautiful things to look at, and in such a lovely setting. It has been a few years since I visited, but your post makes me think I need to add it to my “to do” list for my next visit to London. Thanks.

  2. Thanks! I agree the Wallace is just a wonderful building to wander through. If you have any suggestions for other places to visit please let me know. Hope you have some good trips planned!

  3. Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Who Else Wants To Discover A Rebel Psychiatrist’s Amazing Secret That Lets You Put People Under Your Control Quickly & Easily … and Get Them to Do Anything You Want?

  4. If you haven’t seen it, another gem is Sir John Soane’s Museum
    (13 Lincoln’s Inn Fields, London, WC2A 3BP). Remarkable collections, and a remarkable view into an era (early 1800s). http://www.soane.org/

    The London Silver Vaults are pretty remarkable — or were last time I saw them. Pretty much everything imaginable, all made out of silver. Much of the silver is antiques, so rather like a museum — except you can buy the stuff. http://www.thesilvervaults.com/

    On my last visit, I enjoyed wandering through Apsley House, home of the Duke of Wellington.

    And if you haven’t been to Greenwich (I have a friend who lived in London for ten years and never got there), both the Maritime Museum and the Royal Observatory are worth visiting.

    And on my “to do list,” so I can only say that I’ve heard it’s wonderful, is Somerset House.

    As for trips planned — a few places in mind (Russia, Costa Rica, South Africa), but nothing nailed down at the moment. However, London is always on the list, as I can’t seem to stay away for too long.

  5. I got to the Soane house a few weeks ago (on the same day they light the candles but I didn’t stay) it was an interesting building. I’ve not heard of the silver vault, I’ll try and make my way there.

    It’s funny you mention Greenwich, I’ve been putting it off for ages but was told today that the Village market closes this weekend so I’ll definitely be going on Saturday.

    I haven’t been to Somerset House either and definitely want to go this winter for a spot of ice skating in the courtyard.

    Hope you have some good trips this year!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

