Newcastle – Overview

October 16, 2008 at 9:30 pm | Posted in General, Out and About, Tourism, Travel, UK | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I came to Newcastle to visit relatives and I guess I’ll have to do that again in the future but without that impetus I’m not sure what the city has to recommend itself.
001 006

It’s fine, it’s pleasant but not outstanding.

008

It has some interesting and well known bridges plus the upper/lower city dynamic I found fascinating in Edinburgh. Perhaps I’m being too harsh and using London too much as a benchmark?

020

Newcastle does have a long and colourful history and it’s compact enough for the casual tourist to wander.

053 049

I’m not going to come back anytime soon but the city was pleasant for a short break.

While in Newcastle I stayed at (another) Euro Hostel. These looked like operational college dorms (during term months anyway). I booked for an ensuite but the room only had a salle de bain. So it was a communal bathroom. I should have asked but I didn’t care that much. That and I didn’t want to be a nuisance especially as the staff where particularly friendly. OK I’m weak. On that note I found everyone I encountered in Newcastle friendly and helpful.

More photos at Flickr.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

