The Science Museum

August 19, 2007 at 10:51 pm | Posted in London, museum, Out and About, science, Science Museum, Travel, UK | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

This week I’m off to the Science Museum. The Piccadilly line is the easiest way to the museum via South Kensington Station. The tube station is also close to a number of other tourist spots such as The Natural History Museum. I was starving before I left but figured it would be more efficient to grab a bite when I arrived. This was not the case what with Kensington being a cultural hub it seems to disapprove of cafes, McDonalds or any other eatery. After walking around for a bit (probably missing the above food outlets by metres) I gave up and decided on eating at the Museum cafe. Through the main doors I queue up for my bag to be inspected. The signs helpfully point out that I should not be carrying a gun.

Post inspection I’m faced by hordes of tourists and families with strollers crowding through the main floor. I’m now stuck in another line, this time for some unfortunate sandwiches. Now with something in my stomach I’m ready to walk through the museum. I was planning on entertaining myself with Dave and Joel on my walk and while iTunes claimed to have synced the latest track to my iPod this was not the case. Basically, it was just me and too many people and too many lound children that I wasn’t able to block out with one of my favourite podcasts.

If you can’t tell today I became a grumpy and crotchety blogger.

What can be said about the Science Museum? Well there is a lot of content and display cases with scientific artefacts on any number of issues such as energy, metals, weather and timekeeping to name just a few.

Trying to avoid the crowds, the best place to go is to the 4th and 5th floors which cover the history of medicine. Despite the small floor space they have certainly packed in a lot of information. The 3rd floor covers Flight – including full scale models and motion ride simulators (extra charge). 2nd floor is maritime engineering (another quiet spot), mathematics, energy and computing. The energy exhibit includes some helpful hands on displays including a dance dance revolution style activity. 1st floor features a pretty informative temporary exhibit on plastics as well as permanent sections on agriculture, weather and time. Ground’s best feature is the modern world displays covering my favourite area: space exploration. Lastly, the basement has a display on the changing home. There are a few other sections and paid areas such as an Imax cinema.

I’m starting to think I may be a philistine in academic robes. All of this knowledge and potential new information should fulfil my curiosity but on the contrary I just got bored and tended to walk past most exhibits – unless something caught my eye. Perhaps things would have been better if many of the exhibits didn’t seem to end around 1980/1990 or look like a 1970s class room. For example, the Internet seems completely lacking as do alternative energy systems (other than the child’s hand on display). Although the hunger/ crowd thing may have just reduced my enthusiasm for this particular outing.

There is a lot on offer in the museum but for the tourist I wonder whether it’s possible to get the most benefit. Even without reading in depth it still took me a few hours to walk through and with that in mind a tourist may have to prioritise which floors to explore or frankly, whether to come at all – assuming you have to make a choice between one museum/ activity or another. Once again this museum is free which is beneficial but the time it takes and the lack of up to date scientific displays are serious drawbacks.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

