We interrupt your normal transmission…

June 5, 2007 at 10:39 pm | Posted in General, London, Random, Travel, work | 1 Comment

… of several week old travel stories to reveal that I am indeed in London – not say Japan – as my adventures may have indicated. After a few weeks here and some prodding from elsewhere I should give a quick update.

I landed on 18th May and in the past few weeks have switched around numerous budget hotels, ridden the Tube every which way, gone to countless agency interviews and testing sessions, seen various apartments, met up with wonderful people, got a cold that still hasn’t left and walked around taking in the sites.

The upshot of all this is that I have secured a room in a share house in Islington and a job in the City near the Gherkin. The apartment is ludicrously overpriced but I’m used to that in Sydney and a week into it and my housemates don’t appear insane. After all it is all about the appearance of normalcy. Job wise, tomorrow is the first day so I may be updating the blog with a story about unemployment soon enough, but thus far it looks quite low level admin but that suits me as I will now be looking in earnest for a ‘real’ job. Oddly, I told this to the client at the interview and still got the offer.

I’ve also purchased a laptop and despite its occasional blue screens I’m back online and no longer dependent on trying to find an  (overpriced) Internet cafe.

Hopefully, that means more frequent updates from me and sooner rather than later I’ll be getting back to new travel stories from London.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay, a post!!! Good to hear you are alive and well (although, I gathered that from the photos posted on facebook by Amy and Laura). I want to hear more travel stories! Sadly, I don’t have much to report from Sydney…. just all the usual stuff… although, I am quite excited that my mum is visiting for the weekend (well, Thursday to Sunday) and I am taking Friday off to hang out with her. And I am out of the office all next week on study leave. Yes, that means studying for an exam, but I am looking forward to the sleep-ins, coffees and afternoon yoga sessions. The mind must be limber in order to absorb information…. hehehe.

    xT


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

