Gone

May 4, 2007 at 9:27 pm | Posted in Australia, Brisbane, General, Travel | Leave a comment

I’ve left Sydney. The last month and certainly the past few days have gone by in such a blur of reeling from one must do to another I haven’t had a chance to fully process what I have done and more importantly what I’m about to undertake.

I did get an opportunity to take photos of Potts Point on Monday and act like a giddy tourist in the process and will post them as soon as I can.

I finally managed to clear out my apartment and get it ready for the cleaning company I’d hired so I wouldn’t have to worry about anything. While I knew I was being overcharged I didn’t really care as long as it got done and it didn’t feel totally appalling until the realtor looked at the receipt and started laughing.

I’d better get my bond back now.

I made it back to my hotel room where for the upteenth time over this week I culled my belongings and madly rushed out, fortunately finding a cab and few traffic problems. That turned out to be a good thing as I made it to Qantas Domestic literally 2 minutes before the 30 minute deadline. I knew Jetstar was a stickler for this but had no idea Qantas was becoming similarly tough with timelines.

Then onto the security checkpoint. Previously I have said that Sydney airport is less stringent than other airports but not this day where shoes off andfollow ups were all the rage. Normally, I’d throw my wallet into the small tray but this time they said no, allegedly there have been thefts.

The flight was fine and made easier by an almost empty plane and being offered more food. Yes airplane food but with no breakfast it was appreciated. The only downside was that my headphones didn’t work (nor did quite a few others on my side of the plane). At least it’s only a short flight.

Brisbane. Too quiet. I ended up getting to my hotel, which for the price, was not worth it but unlike previous trips Brisbane seems to be lacking well placed and priced accommodation. I ended up falling asleep for most of the day and woke up and wandered over to the Valley where most places were shut or shutting down. Even Fat Boys isn’t 24hrs anymore. The next few days I spent chilling out (ie avoiding doing my must do’s).

It felt good to relax before coming back to Logan and ostensibly get myself organised. Of course it is now Saturday before I leave on Monday and I’m still well off the list. Nonetheless, it has been great to catch up on sleep and meet up with my Brisbane friends before leaving the country indefinitely.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

