Something of an improvement: Giotta Art Cafe

November 13, 2006 at 12:02 pm | Posted in Cafes & Restaurants, Coffee, General, Out and About, Sydney, Travel | Leave a comment
Tags:

After two poor choices I made my way home and decided to try for another coffee on Stanley Street. I’ve never spent any time in Stanley Street, I don’t really know why. I had always presumed it was a larger stretch of eateries but it covers just a bit more than a block. Most places appeared either packed or empty-ish, so in a Goldilocks moment I went for the middle option and walked into Giotta Art Cafe (they don’t seem to have a website).

Décor wise it could have ended up being bland. However, the wooden seating and tables help to warm the interior away from the white walls. The venue also has, as the name suggests, art along the walls that I assume you could buy. I further assume that these change on a regular basis. I imagine if I came back on a regular basis the changing art may influence the mood of the establishment.  

I only ordered a mocha so I can’t comment on the food. The mocha was decent and quite sweet (granted I added 2 sugars without even tasting it) however once again there was too much froth, not as much as earlier but enough to be annoying.  All in all the café offers an inviting interior and reasonably friendly staff. While it’s not going onto my regular rotation it is one I wouldn’t say no to.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

