Roy’s famous?

November 6, 2006 at 1:40 pm | Posted in Food, Out and About, Sydney | Leave a comment
Tags:

Foodwise I went to another local, Roy’s Famous. I’m still trying to figure out what people see in this place, the backpackers I understand as it is right next door but for everyone else it’s a mystery. Don’t get me wrong it’s decent but that’s about all. I do come here on occasion, usually for nachos. I think it’s one of the few places to get them in the area, if not let me know but don’t say Fountain as I detest that restaurant. Apologies for the link, apparently they don’t have a site, note even on eatability

Side note to Roy’s: Fountain is terribly overpriced, mediocre food with incredibly poor and slow service. The only reason I’ve gone there is because it’s one of the few places that has a sizeable number of tables and has relatively late hours (before the all night kebab shops) and the “view” of the Fountains and the Cross.

OK so this post just became a mini rant…back to Roy’s.

Roy’s in contrast has friendlier service but I have definitely felt pushed to leave when they want my table or urged to buy more food. The food is decent and the interiors are warm and inviting with an outside area that is good for people watching.  Their coffees are not a highlight as my mocha was particularly weak.

In the end I guess Roy’s is ok and a nice place to while away or read the paper but with so many other venues in the area it isn’y my first choice.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

