Stuff, just stuff.

October 18, 2006 at 12:46 pm | Posted in General, Random, Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Tooth decay, disturbing TV, praise at work and Second Life

I went to a fancy dentist this morning to get my tooth looked at. It had lots of LCD screens in the room, including one on the ceiling that they offered to put a DVD on for me to watch while they repaired my tooth’s filling. Yes, that’s right, I needed a new filling. Apparently the old one fell out and the remainder was pressing down on the nerve causing the pain. While I “know” that it’s an issue with the filling and the last dentist (as I do have several others my family dentist put in with no problem) Newest Dentist wouldn’t specify why it fell out or if it was New Dentists’ fault. Although one thing I don’t understand is being asked to say how the filling ‘feels’ when technically I have no feeling in that side of my mouth.

Numbness made work fun, normally I spend a good portion of my day on the phone but today I just left it on voice-mail and slurred to anyone who came up to me and had to explain why I sounded drunk. Now sadly, I’m really not used to praise at work, at least praise that’s not patronising. In the latter’s case that’s the “Oh you made a [simple] spreadsheet, that’s excellent. Very well done,” yet today I found out that one of our vendors told our project manager that I’d done a good job. I was stoked.

Sad that this gets such a reaction.

Speaking of sad, I watched the second half of America Exposed: Uncut’s episode on Crank. It was very disturbing, particularly the couple who swore off drugs for their newborn and then injected themselves within 2 days.  Also the statistic that only 6% of crank addicts manage to actually stay off it is unsettling. Granted this production was done by the same guy who did an episode about suicide that was intentionally emotive. I get the impression that this is his style, full of heart and more importantly sympathy than an informative piece.

While I’m not a Second Life player I found this article about Reuters opening a bureau in cyberspace quite an interesting development.

Can I blame this post on the anaesthetic?

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dude! (Or Dudette) I’m so watching Cromartie High too! Well, I was, until I got distracted by Gankutsuou. Hajimemashite! Doozo yoroshiku gozaimasu! Did you go to Animania this year? Thanks for linking to my blog (unless it’s a trackback.. oh pesky technology these days) – unexpected but not unwelcomed.

  2. Thanks for the post, yep I went to Animania: https://activeprocrastination.wordpress.com/2006/10/02/its-mania-animania/ and through the wonders of technorati I came across your site. Was thinking about Supanova as well but I’m too lazy to go all the way to Olympic Park.

  3. I didn’t go to Supanova either, due to family and friend commitments. It’s rare to meet another anime fan, but maybe it’s because I hang out in the wrong places. Enjoyable blog, by the way, particularly with links to other Sydney bloggers.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

