Succumbed

October 14, 2006 at 9:25 am | Posted in General, i-mate, Random, Sydney | 1 Comment

Despite my earlier post about having issues with my i-mate jam I decided to buy the Jam’s headphones. Even though they don’t have the fashion-sense or quality as other headphones at least they work with the 2.5mm jack so I can actually hear everything.

Now after listening to one of Geek Night’s episodes where they gave a rave review to the comic, “Scott Pilgrim“.  As I’m a sucker for peer pressure I went out and bought the first one. While I ended up getting it at Kinokuniya I have to give props to Kings Comics for knowing about it as well (but being out of stock). Meanwhile the two Brisbane comic shops I went to when I was there all looked at me blankly. I didn’t think #1 really got going until near the end but isn’t the way with most first episodes? So I’ll read #2 to see if the momentum continues building.

Now, sadly it looks like my prediction about a new bookshop in my area has come true. There are now signs advertising the space for lease, which must be really disheartening as it is still open for business. They did fix up some of my complaints by putting some rugs down, removing the couch and tidying up the front. It even has a name now but I guess there’s no need to remember it. I went in once and it looks like there is a large selection but presumably just not enough people are buying. When I went in I saw the owner(?) and his mother chatting. I really hope she didn’t finance this with any retirement funds!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] An update to my earlier write up of Scott Pilgrim, I finally finished reading all three of the Scott Pilgrim comics and to my delight I enjoyed them particularly after Book One’s mid point when the general themes and characters had been established. Both Geek Nights and The Ninja Consultants have done reviews and you should check them out.  […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

