The perfect combo: Spanish Festival and High Tea

September 3, 2006 at 11:43 am | Posted in Food, Out and About, Sydney, Travel | 1 Comment
Tags:

Today was the Spanish Festival in the so-called Spanish Quarter of Sydney. Realistically it’s normally more of a street or a small L than a “Quarter”. However, today the Spanish Quarter took up Kent and Leichardt streets, near Chinatown. The Festival with all of its food, people and performances was a lot of fun. This annual event showcases Spanish food, drink and culture. Luckily it didn’t take that long to be served for food or wander around – except for the Churros that had such a long line I gave up. Meanwhile I ate a Chorizo and some Sangria! They were tasty! Granted I’ve never really had either so it’s hard to compare but it was good.

Crowds.

More people.

 

Churro Stand – long line (wider than my lense!)

French Restaurant in the ‘Spanish Quarter’

I watched some of the performances, a guitarist and some dancers – quite cool. Although I’ve realised that I need to work on my photography skills to compensate for movement. The dancers came out a little blurry (below). It only took an hour to wander and eat even with the hubbub of activity and people although with events throughout the day I imagine you could easily spend longer or come back for whatever you’d like to see.

 

Dancing!

More Dancing!

Performers on stilts – One frazzled, one cheery. Guess who’s who!

Next year, come check out the Spanish Festival.

What works well with Spanish hot-dogs? High Tea, I hear you say and you would be absolutely correct.

I met with Tam, Danielle and Amy at the Victoria Room in Darlinghurst. The Victoria Room is nicely decorated with plush leather couches and dim but inviting lighting. The staff were very friendly and helpful providing good service and even a vegetarian option. While they were reasonably good at refilling teapots and ice water the milk was not replenished as quickly. Nonetheless given how busy it became we looked after quite well.

I admit when I first saw the High Tea food tray I thought we were going to be ripped off but after eating up all of the sandwiches, scones and cakes we were all satisfied. Drinking copious amounts of tea (I had Prince of Wales, they had Earl Grey) and Champagne it’s hard not to be! Personally, I wasn’t a fan of the Cucumber Sandwiches (1 of 4 types) or the Shortbread but everyone else liked them.  While initially I wonder whether $38.50 was value for money I ultimately decide that given the food and drink we were given plus the 3 hours we sat around and chatted that High Tea at the Victoria Room is a well worth it, once in a while event.

High Tea

 

High Tea – Vegetarian

As usual more photos on Flickr.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] its significantly smaller size I found Sydney’s Spanish Festival a much more lively […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

