More TV ‘n’ stuff

August 29, 2006 at 12:41 pm | Posted in Documentaries, Farscape, Stargate Atlantis, Stargate SG-1 | 1 Comment

Apologies for the poor formatting, for some reason it’s not letting me put in paragraph breaks…except for this one. Try and enjoy.  

Well, I guess my previous question about South Parkand JonBenet is a moot point now.
In other TV news, I’m not prone to doing reviews of individual episodes, but last week had some unexpected highlights/lowlights. And yes I’m slow reporting it. It saw both Stargate SG-1’s 200th episode ‘200’ and notice of its cancellation. 200 was incredibly good, initially I thought it was going to self-indulgent trash but very soon the in-jokes and tongue in cheek (including about cancellation) started to win me over. Though the moment where it turned to fan boy status was when they parodied Farscape. Awesome. As for its cancellation, a part of me is sad because it’s been such a stalwart – usually of high quality – but by the same token it has outlasted so many shows, ten years is a phenomenal run in TV. Just ask Farscape. Hopefully, they can either find another network or telemovie it or at the very least wrap up the story effectively. And while we’re on it, Atlantis also had a pretty good episode that week with Real World. I’ve always enjoyed episodes in sci-fi/fantasy where they think they’ve experienced is a mental condition. Probably a good break for the actor too. Though the leaps of logic the rest of the cast make are pretty big ones. In both episodes there was of course guest appearances by Richard Dean Anderson.
Recently watched National Geographic’s ‘World Cyber Games’ documentary. It was quite interesting. While I used to be quite a gamer the professionals well and truly put me to shame. I thought I was fairly up on my pop cult geekiness but this event has previously passed me by. Looks like fun.
Unlike, Crime and Investigation Channel’s documentary ‘The Real Blair Witch’about a group of teens who, depending on who you believe, made an amateur movie or kidnapped and terrorised an acquaintance all while videotaping it. Watching segments is unnerving. Which followed on from watching a biography of Jeffrey Dahmer. OK too much criminology.
Speaking of, have successfully completed my degree and received a letter the other day saying I’d finished my criminology degree and will eventually get a letter inviting me to my graduation in a few months. Exciting!
Lastly, Rove McManus was recently interviewed in the Good Weekend Magazine of the Sydney Morning Herald and one of the questions was what he thinks about sometimes, his answer being, somewhat appropriately, “where Casper the Friendly Dead Kid is buried,” and now I’m pondering that as well.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. SciFi2u giving you Stargate SG1 and the latest in SciFi.

    http://www.sciFi2u.com


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

